• White Apple Music Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Vimeo Icon
  • White SoundCloud Icon
  • White Amazon Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Facebook Icon


 Plant This Album!

• Please click below if you have a download code •

Artwork by Mona Caron


Rupa and the April Fishes create a "powerfully evocative" (LA times) sound that pulsates with the pluralism of US culture, celebrating the art of resistance through a wide musical palette that pulls from over a decade of playing street parties, festivals and symphonic concerts through 29 countries with songs in 5 languages. Under the direction of composer, front-woman, activist and physician Rupa, the band creates a live experience which is a manifestation of a world beyond nations, where the heart of humanity beats louder than anything that divides us. Their latest album, Growing Upward (2019), available digitally and with seed packets, has been called "a firecracker of a record" touching on issues of climate justice and belonging with lyrics that are "pure poetry" (Songlines Magazine).​ The album features artwork by a longtime collaborator, the art-ivist and muralist, Mona Caron.

The band consists of drummer Aaron Kierbel, cellist Misha Khalikulov, trumpeter Mario Alberto Silva, electronics artist/duduk player JHNO, bassist Daniel Fabricant, violinist Matt Szemela and guitarist/vocalist Rupa.

No upcoming events at the moment

Please subscribe to our mailing list




GRIOTproduction GmbH 


PRESS US: Ron Kadish ron@rockpaperscissors.biz

PRESS Europe: Daniela Siemon daniela.siemon@der-promotor.de

PRESS CANADA: Philippe Georgiades philippe.g@sympatico.ca


© 2019, Rupa & The April Fishes. All rights reserved.